Phone: 08 8231 4169 | Email: info@hcasa.asn.au | Find HCASA on FacebookFollow HCASA on Twitter

Phone: 08 8231 4169
Email: info@hcasa.asn.au
Find HCASA on FacebookFollow HCASA on Twitter

hca logo

Consumers at the centre of health
in South Australia

On 28 February 2018, the Hon Bruce Lander QC, Independent Commissioner Against Corruption (ICAC), released his investigation report on the Oakden Older Persons Mental Health Facility. The report highlights systemic failings in processes and oversight that allowed the events at the Oakden Facility to occur for more than a decade. HCA has prepared a summary of key findings, with a link to the full report, which you can view below. Anyone with concerns about people in care can contact the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner, the Aged Rights Advocacy Service, SA Police, or the Health and Community Services Complaints Commissioner. You can also phone the South Australian Elder Abuse Prevention Phone Line on 1800 372 310. 

HCA Summary Oakden Report

The final Oakden Response Report is now available. It provides a comprehensive record of the work undertaken by the Oakden Report Response Plan Oversight Committee, on which HCA was a member. The committee was established under recommendations outlined in the Oakden Report It is intended to provide a complete reference point for policy documents and guidelines created in response to the Oakden Report recommendations for use by SA Health staff and staff of partner organisations providing services to older people in South Australia. The document contains details of the work of the Committee and its subcommittees and complete copies of all relevant outputs. You can download the document below. 

 Oakden Response Plan Oversight Committee Final Report

Closes: Monday 24 July 2017

Expressions of interest are invited from consumers and carers as soon as possible.  SA Health has established an oversight committee to inform the implementation of the Chief Psychiatrist’s Review of the Oakden Older Person’s Mental Health Service recommendations, all of which were accepted by the SA Government. Reporting to this committee there will be up to five work groups established: models of care; staffing; quality and safety; culture and restrictive practices. Consumers and carers with relevant experience in older persons mental health care are invited to submit an expression of interest. The Governance Framework for this work and the expression of interest form is available below. You can find out more about Oakden here.

Oakden Response Governance Framework 0617 docx

EOI Oakden Work Groups

As previously reported, HCA has joined the SA Health Oakden Response Plan Oversight Committee. To build transparency and accountability HCA has negotiated the delivery of a regular communique from the Oversight Committee. The communiques are available to view online below

Oakden Communique 1 July 2017

Oakden Communique 2 August 2017

Oakden Communique 3 September 2017

Oakden Communique 4 October 2017

Oakden Communique 5 November 2017

Oakden Communique 9 February 2018

Oakden Communique 11 May 2018

 

A review of Oakden Older Persons Mental Health Service has delivered a damning report, criticising the quality and nature of care provided and recommending the closure of the service.

The review team made six sets of recommendations covering: models of care; staffing; quality and safety; and restrictive practices.

HCA calls on SA Health to publicly report  progress on implementing the review’s recommendations.

All involved must genuinely commit to building a health system that is genuinely consumer-centred and puts the needs of health consumers first.

Ongoing transparency, and accountability, is crucial. 

The review report, frequently asked questions and goverment response to the review recommendations are available here.

HCA's media release is available here.

You can hear Michael Cousins live interview on Radio Adelaide here. 

In response to the Chief Psychiatrist’s Review of the Oakden Older Person’s Mental Health Service, SA Health has established an oversight committee to inform the implementation of the review recommendations, all of which were accepted by the SA Government. The committee will report to the Chief Executive of SA Health and includes representatives from the Health Consumers Alliance; Aged Rights Advocacy Service; Council of the Ageing SA; Office of the Public Advocate; and the Community Visitor Scheme. The committee will be time-limited. Work groups will be established to address the six recommendations of the review with the priority being the development of the state-wide model of care. The review team made six sets of recommendations covering: models of care; staffing; quality and safety; and restrictive practices. Consumers and carers with relevant experience will be recruited to join each of the work groups.

HCA visited the refurbished Northgate House on the weekend with families of Oakden consumers who will move there in the next few weeks. Families felt the facility to be an improvement with good access to sunlight, secure gardens and quiet zones for consumers.

Northgate

 

Latest news

HCA Social Media Review

HCA are reviewing the way we use social media and how to make sure you get the most out of the information we share and so we can gather your feedback and opinions. We want to know what you want to see on our social media and what engages you the most. Social media is a great way to inform and engage with the community and we think we could be using it better! We would really appreciate your feedback.

Please complete our one minute survey here to help us improve our social media engagement. 

You can view our Facebook here and Twitter here

Board Communique March 2019

The March HCASA Board meeting recently confirmed our capacity to continue our work well into 2020. HCASA is here to stay. We had expected to call a Special General Meeting at about this time to ask our members to consider the organisation’s future. After careful consideration of our financial position, our capacity and the importance of our work we are instead scheduling the launch of our new business prospectus. This is planned for Monday 17 June, Save the date.

You will have read in eNews that we have moved our offices upstairs from level 1 to 3 at 12 Pirie Street. Our team continues to do an amazing job building a viable and sustainable business future. You’ll hear more about this on/after 17 June. We would not have been able to consider such an optimistic future without the pragmatic and moral support of our members, partners and supporters. Thank you.


We encourage organisations and individuals who believe in our vision of ‘consumers at the centre of health’ to make sure they have current membership of HCASA. As you know, we are a state-wide, member-based incorporated association with no political affiliations. We provide the information, training and services people, services and policy makers need to ensure consumers have a powerful influence on the health services that they pay for, use and expect to support the health and wellbeing of all South Australians. This work must and will continue.


Debra Kay PSM
Board Chair HCASA
On behalf of the HCASA Board and Staff Team

New Code, laws and website for the HCSCC

There have been some changes at the Health and Community Service Complaints Commissioner (HCSCC). On 18 March 2019, South Australia implemented the Code of Conduct for Certain Health Care Workers which replaced the Code of Conduct for Unregistered Health Practitioners. This change aligns South Australia with the National Code of Conduct for Health Care Workers approved by the COAG Health Council. Unregistered health care workers who do not fall within the jurisdiction of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) will have to comply with the code and display certain information where they practise.

The code establishes:

• A range of minimum standards for unregistered health care workers.
• Additional powers to the HCSCC if an unregistered health care worker is found to have breached the Code.

Law changes also came into effect that allow the Health and Community Services Complaints Commissioner to:

• Adopt prohibition orders imposed on individuals from across Australia.
• Investigate individual volunteers providing a health service.
• Restrict people who are subject to a prohibition order from advertising and promoting themselves as a health service.
• Issue a public statement to identify a person or warn the public when interim action has been taken.

To read the HCSCC’s news release, click here. To read more about the code of conduct, click here.

You’ll also notice that the HCSCC has a new website, which the Health Consumer’s Alliance was consulted on. The new website is easier to navigate, provides clearer information and is consumer tested. Go check it out!

And remember you can like the HCSCC on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. If you would like to receive their newsletter, email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Cancer Voices Annual Report

Cancer Voices SA - Raising a Voice for People Affected by Cancer Annual Report 2018.

Cancer Voices Annual Report 2018

HCA Training 2019

In 2019 HCA will work with consumers, partner agencies and other stakeholders to develop more focused training modules for consumers on topics such as:

One of the changes of not having a core funding base is that we will now be charging for our training, including consumer training. Fees will be kept as low as possible, and opportunities for subsidised training will be made available to consumers who do not have the capacity to pay.

Back to eNews here


View all latest news


Latest eNews

Events

The Bleeding Edge Screening

The Bleeding Edge Screening

When: Wednesday 1 May 2019 1.30pm to 4.30pm
Where
: The Science Exchange, 55 Exchange Place, Adelaide

HCA are proud to host a screening of the award winning documentary, The Bleeding Edge.
The film looks at the $400 billion medical device industry and the profit-driven mind-set that rushes implanted devices into the marketplace without proper clinical trials. The screening will be followed by a panel and question and answer session. Afternoon tea will also be provided.

You can register for the event here

2019 Choosing Wisely Australia National Meeting

Thursday 30 May 2019

Melbourne

The 2019 annual Choosing Wisely National Meeting will bring together policy makers, consumers and other health care stakeholders for an interactive discussion on the opportunities, challenges, and highlights of the Choosing Wisely initiative as it continues to grow. Early bird registration is open until Thursday 18 April.

Find out more and register here. 

Health & Community Services Complaints Commissioner Website Focus Group

Wednesday 30 January 2019

10am – 12pm
HCA Adelaide

HCA is hosting a focus group for the South Australian Health and Community Services Complaints Commissioner (HCSCC). The focus group aims to gain consumer feedback on their current website to ensure it is user-friendly.

You can find out more and register here. 

Back to eNews here. 

2019 Choosing Wisely Australia National Meeting

Thursday 30 May 2019
Melbourne

The annual 2019 Choosing Wisely National Meeting will bring together policymakers, consumers and other health care stakeholders for an interactive discussion on the opportunities, challenges, and highlights of the choosing wisely initiative as it continues to grow. Early bird registration is open until Thursday 18 April. You can find out more about the meeting and the Choosing Wisely initiative here.


View all events

HCA on Facebook

HCA on Facebook

HCA on Facebook

nothing about us without us